ruff stuff

Mine’s the ugly one.


Music artists ‘Matt & Kim’ state in their song “Lessons Learned:”

Never let your mark erase / ’cause broken bones can be replaced

so I decided to buy a bike. I think it was a better idea on paper.

Everyone says it’s impossible to unlearn riding a bike, but I beg to differ. It’s been about two years since I rode a bike for any significant amount of time, and it was in a nice, quiet suburb, not a busy city with bike lanes.

“Second-hand bike? I have. Go on, you can ride it a little bit, if you would like to buy,” offered the clerk at Fiets 2000 in a thick accent.

I chose the ugliest one, hoping that it would deter theft, which is a common problem here. I swung my leg over the bike and pushed off. I wobbled for a couple yards, swerved into the road, overcompensated my steering to correct it, and fell into a car.

“You just need a little practice, and then I am finding you riding all over the city,” he told me, with great enthusiasm, while he rung me up. “Or beneath a truck.”

The bikes here, even the nice ones, are ridiculously minimalistic. There’s nothing to absorb shock, and the tires are very thin, meaning that the slightest touch can send you flying in another direction. But you know what? I’m kinda diggin’ it.

~ by curiouskristie on January 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
